The overhaul of LMS 3F No. 16440 (renumbered to 7357 and latterly 47357) is progressing very well with the work on the frames, motion and wheels almost complete at the end of March. The boiler, being worked on elsewhere, is to be steam tested shortly before being moved and re-united with the completed frames. The decision has been made to finish the locomotive in the livery it first carried when restored at Derby Locomotive Works in the early 1970’s. It steamed again for the first time in June 1973 having being recovered from Woodhams scrap yard in Barry Docks, along with class mate 16410 (47327). In service 16440 never carried this fully lined LMS Maroon livery (seen here in 1985 on Santa Special duties), but became iconic at the fledgling Midland Railway Centre, such that Hornby Models produced it in 00 gauge form.
It is fully expected that once 16440 returns to the Midland Railway – Butterley this Summer, work should progress rapidly to see a completed and operational locomotive before the year end. Once in traffic work on sister locomotive 16410 (47327) will pick up and steady progress will continue in restoring 47445, which has never steamed in preservation.
For regular updates on the progress of 16440 see our Facebook pages.
Background: 16440 was built in Glasgow in 1926 by the North British Locomotive Company. The 3F class was designed for shunting or light passenger/goods work and examples were to be found in every corner of the LMS network. 47357 was first allocated to Willesden (1A) then to Liverpool Edge Hill (8A) in 1950. Withdrawn in 1966 and sold to Woodham Bros. it resided there until purchased by Derby City Council for the Midland Railway Project in 1970 and moved to Derby for restoration work. This locomotive is still owned by Derby City Council and through Derby Museums Trust is leased to the Midland Railway Trust.